Tree-mendous

Posted on August 15, 2015. Filed under: Project progress |

Forty-two down, eighteen to go.

Trees 7 150815       Tree growth in Studio 2

This line-up is due to steady, methodical work at the Missenden Summer School, combined with a little experimentation. I’ve tried to introduce that all-important recession by choice of colour, size and structure.

I did chicken out of airbrushing the trees behind the up line to tone them down. It’s not a job I want to rush, and I need more practice in the technique. Instead, I’ll place the trees on the layout, and possibly add grass, before trying a holistic approach.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Tree-mendous”

RSS Feed for Kyle of Sutherland Comments RSS Feed

The colours will tone down naturally anyway; especially if you leave them in sun light.

Thanks, Mark, that’s saved me a lot of work. My experience with an airbrush was valuable, but not immediately useful. The “sacrificial tree” turned completely grey very, very quickly.

Not quite sure why I never picked up on your project before but this is truly superb.
I’ll be heading back down the posts to learn about how you created the trees.
The other aspects are rather wonderful too! 🙂

Thanks for the encouragement, much appreciated. I learned my tree making skills initially from Barry Norman at Missenden 10 years ago, then in 2013 attended a course at Pendon Museum with Gordon and Maggie Gravatt – amazing! And I continue to learn from others, such as Kevin Wilson (Bucks Hill) and Paul Bambrick of Bambrick Studios. There are some great modellers out there.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    The epic struggle to build a model railway exhibition layout at 4mm to the foot

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

